Red list countries: Full list of holidays destinations you still can't visit

THE government have updated the red list in their latest travel announcement.

Sun-starved Brits have been desperate to go on holiday this year – but Covid restrictions remain in place.

🔵 Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest updates

Which countries are on the red list?

Four countries have been added to the red list today – Georgia, Mexico, La Reunion and Mayotte.

Meanwhile, India, Bahrain, Qatar and the UAE have been moved from the red to the amber list.

The changes will come into effect at 4am on Sunday 8 August in England.

The countries currently on the red list are:

  • Angola
  • Afghanistan
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Brazil
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Kenya
  • La Reunion
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Africa
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

What are the red list travel rules?

The cost of a quarantine hotel stay will go up more than £500 from August 5.

The original price for a single adult staying in mandatory hotel isolation was £1,750 for a ten-night stay, but the price will increase to £2,285. 

If passengers leave the quarantine hotel before their 10 days are up, they will be handed a £5,000 coronavirus fine, but this figure can increase up to £10,000.

The price for a second adult sharing the hotel room will also go up in price, from £650 to £1,430. 

The price remains unchanged at £325 for children aged 5-12 and free for children under 5. 

Travellers coming into England from the red list countries have to book a stay at a quarantine hotel through an online booking platform.

Passengers are only be able to enter through small number of ports, and they will then be escorted to select hotels that will be closed to general members of the public.

Guests remain in their rooms and not mix with anyone else, with visible security in place.

In addition to their negative Covid test before arrival into England, they then have to take a second and third test on day two and day eight after they enter the country.

Here is the full list of countries on the green list and amber list too.

    Source: Read Full Article